More Than A Survivor: An interview with Samina

Sahiyo understands that being a survivor of female genital cutting (FGC) is just one moment of your life and only one part of who you are as a person. Oftentimes, being labeled as a survivor can prevent people from seeing a person in any other context beyond survivorship.

Our campaign, #MoreThanASurvivor, explores our individuality and shows the world what makes us unique. After all, who we are is made up of all the moments in our lives, not just one.

Interview:

Where do you live?

Amchi, Mumbai!

Where’s the favorite place you have traveled to, lived in or would like to visit?

It’s this place in Himachal Pradesh called Kalpa, Narkanda & Naldehra. I have been to these places and must say, it’s heaven on earth; and one more place which is my favourite is on the outskirts of Bangalore. It’s a farmhouse called LUSH.

What are some of your passions?

Traveling, especially road trips are my favorite.

I love visiting/exploring places which are not tourist spots.

I am a passionate biker (Royal Enfield) and I love driving, too (Mahindra Thar Jeep)

Any form of adventure is welcome!

What does an average day look like for you?

A normal weekday starts at 5.30am…First it’s a 10-minute meditation followed by surya namaskar.

Then it’s kids’ school lunch prep and sending them off to school, followed by cooking and breakfast!

10am I am ready to leave for work.

Back home by 4:30-5 p.m.

Some me time and then kids’ studies, walk for 20 minutes, past 9 p.m. it’s no gadget time, then dinner for kids and post their sleep, it’s dinner and the day ends by 11p.m., off to bed post 11:30-12 

What are some things you do for self care?

Self care was never my priority until some months back!

But now self care is my priority. Meditation, walk, me time, break from the routine once a month, salads in my diet, learned to say NO when required (This is the best self care to do.)

What are five words to describe you?

Patient, emotional, people person, multitasker, and  I am who I am with everyone and everywhere; there is no mask behind my smile (I won’t and can’t change to fit in at places for people.)

What are your hobbies?

My hobbies are my passion but include reading and I enjoy making creatives for posts (for anyone, any topic)

What is your profession or what career would you like to be in?

Currently I work at Bombay Trophies as the marketing and customization head and handling of all corporate clients. But the career I would love to be in is as an event organiser.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

Too many career options I had, and every stage they changed. But if I had to say my very first thought as a child of what I wanted to be when I grew up was to be a journalist who would organise events, too!

What is your favourite food?

I am a foodie good with everything!

What is your proudest achievement?

Being a super mom with three Kids and multitasking, work, home and my passions

What is a hidden talent that you possess?

No one cannot love me once they meet me. 

But if I said it, it wouldn’t be a hidden talent any more! Honestly, I don’t know. I need to find this one out!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s